WHAT HAPPENS WHILE YOU SLEEP… and the benefits of good sleeping habitZzZZzzZz

I remember my dad telling me how much I was “wasting my life” when sleeping very long hours as a teenager. What he didn’t know and neither did I at that time, is that teenagers need more hours sleep, and that the average humans spend about 30% of their lives sleeping! These and many other facts are part of the reasons why sleeping is a very important part of our biology, not only when we are growing but throughout our whole lives.

I recently watched this TED talk about the ‘neuroscience of sleep’ and I thought it was worth to share it here and  spread the word about the importance of getting enough sleep, and how it affects directly our mood, productivity, physical appearance, happiness and well-being.

Russell Foster, circadian neuroscientist and great speaker, explains better all these in short. He starts saying how little we know about sleeping, our “ignorance” about the subject. We don’t ask why we sleep and we don’t know why it’s so important. Sleeping plays an essential role in the status of our body and mind, and understanding the main existing ideas about the reasons why we sleep, such as: “body restoration, energy conservation, brain processing and memory consolidation”; could probably help to find the answers to some of your problems, and how to fix them easily! In addition, see why ‘sleeping is not an indulgence’, as some people may think.

Contrary to what it seems, while we sleep there is a lot of activity in our brains. It is known that while sleeping the brain presents a cycle of brain-wave activity. “What we know, and what we learn gets attenuated while we sleep; novel solutions to complex problems come up while sleeping; sleeping well enhances creativity”, Says Mr. Foster. And not only that, but sleeping well enough increases concentration, levels of attention, decision-making and more. No wonder why we say “I will sleep on it”, or as we would say in Spanish “I’ll consult it with my pillow”, when making our mind about an important matter.

While some people say: “I will sleep when I’m dead”, they don’t know that you could die sooner if you don’t sleep. Actually, if a human doesn’t sleep for about 11 to 14 days he/she will just die of sleep deprivation, passing through really bad stages of hallucination (around the 3rd day), dementia (after 5 to 6 days) and ultimately death. But we don’t need to go that far to be seriously affected by not sleeping enough. It is proved that some mental disorders like bipolar, depression and schizophrenia are associated with the lack of sleep. As well as, health problems like stress, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes and obesity.

I didn’t know exactly how important it was to sleep, but those who know me, also know how much I love it. After watching this video and researching a little more about the subject, I truly believe this is one of the reasons why I’ve been always healthy, energetic and enthusiastic.

I invite you to watch it, see what to do to sleep better and help yourself to be more productive, healthier, smarter and even prettier!

Sleep is the golden chain that ties our health and bodies together

Thomas Decker

Additionally, if you are a fan of the “5 more minutes” please don’t miss this other video and think about it next time you want to press the snooze button:

I hope you liked this post, enjoyed the videos, start having longer sleep nights and consequently, more pleasant days. Do you sleep enough? Have your sleep habits changed over time? –I’d love to hear your comments, have a good night 🙂

2 thoughts on “WHAT HAPPENS WHILE YOU SLEEP… and the benefits of good sleeping habitZzZZzzZz

comment is free!

